The Beginning

On July 8th, 2012 I started this journal. Somehow between then and now, the stack of impending due dates and staying present with the kids kept me away. But now I’m back and arm in arm with Jaala Smith, Alterista Extraordinaire. We are beyond thrilled with our beautiful space, our extraordinarily calm kids, the chance to work again as a team and to have the freedom to learn the way we see as inspirational and significant.

We have literally put our sweat and spirit into the wood of this space and it lends itself to calm, natural and open learning. We couldn’t be more thrilled to have Lincoln Park as our backyard. Even our actual backyard is so unfathomable that the kids tell their parents that we go to the park everyday.

The camping trip couldn’t have been more perfect; the site, the weather, the shared dinner, the kids running free with flashlights in the dark. I will never, ever forget this beginning and the support our families have given us; the help, the caring, the love, the financial support and the plain old elbow grease; we could not be stopped by glue that should be outlawed or by The Department of Planning and Development!

On July 8th, 2012, I used the quote “follow your bliss”. I had forgotten that I used this quote until my mom asked me how it was going and I said, “bliss”. And then I remembered. It’s as though this professor, from my Alma Mater, has given me the very words to describe this entire experience of walking into our space every morning to look out our larger than life windows to the water that surrounds us and the mountains that stand guard over us.

“If you do follow your bliss you put yourself on a kind of track that has been there all the while, waiting for you, and the life that you ought to be living is the one you are living. Follow your bliss and don’t be afraid, and doors will open where you didn’t know they were going to be.”
― Joseph Campbell

Thank you from the very deepest part of my being for taking this step with us.
All my love,
Michelle

1079422_10151577736803027_708490543_n

